Previous Page | Next Page

  1. Introduction
  2. Boot Process
  3. Init and System Initialization
  4. rc.sysinit script
  5. rc script
  6. functions script
  7. Services
  8. apm daemon
  9. network startup
  10. The network script file
  11. The network-functions file
  12. Portmap startup
  13. Random initialization
  14. Syslog initialization
  15. Gated
  16. Atd
  17. cron initialization
  18. pcmcia
  19. inetd daemon
  20. named daemon
  21. lpd daemon
  22. mars-nwe
  23. netfs startup
  24. dhcpd daemon
  25. autofs daemon
  26. keytable daemon
  27. sendmail daemon
  28. gpm daemon
  29. httpd daemon
  30. xfs startup
  31. smb startup
  32. innd startup
  33. linuxconf startup
  34. rc.local script
  35. Init, Getty, Login
  36. The shell
  37. Shutting down
  38. X
  39. Conclusions
  40. App A. rc.sysinit listing
  41. App B. functions listing
  42. App C. rc listing
  43. Credits


What we have learned

  1. For user confirmation on each service, create the file /tmp/confirm?
  2. To stop, start, restart or see status on a service, type the name of the associated subsystem script file, in "/etc/rc.d/init.d" with start, stop, restart, or status afterward on the command line.
  3. Find a way of determining links to files.
  4. The "/etc/rc.d/rcn.d" subdirectories contain kill and start files for services to be run in the runlevel n and services not to be run.

To change the system runlevel:
A privileged user must invoke the "telinit" program.
When the system runlevel is changed, any running processes that are not specified for the new runlevel are killed, first with SIGTERM, then with SIGKILL.